Richard Pryor - The first recipient of the Mark Twain Prize

The great comedian that change the face of the modern comedy, Richard Pryor, was honored the first Mark Twain Prize, inaugarated in 1998.The first annual Mark Twain Prize took place at the John F Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, on the 18th of October, 1998. The prize is America's foremost award and was named after the humorist and novelist Mark Twain and is to be awarded to those who had great contribution to American humor.

This is why, Richard Pryor was the first recipient of the Mark Twain Prize, because of his signifiant contribution to modern comedy, Richard Pryor's stand up comedy as well as Richard Pryor Show or movies, being the refferal any comedian measures to.

In an evening of laughter, with the company of the leading American artist like Chevy Chase, Whoopi Goldberg, Robin Williams or Morgan Freeman, the comedian Richard Pryor was awarded with the Mark Twain Prize and stated:"I feel great about accepting this prize.

It is nice to be regarded on par with a great white man now that's funny! Seriously, though, two things people throughout history have had in common are hatred and humor. I am proud that, like Mark Twain, I have been able to use humor to lessen people's hatred!"

Quick Info Richard Pryor - The first recipient of the Mark Twain Prize

  • Stand up comedy content published in: Comedy News
  • Stand Up Comedy Section(s): awards |

Related Stand-up comedy to: Richard Pryor - The first recipient of the Mark Twain Prize

Be a pal and spread the word!

Fresh Stand-up Comedy Concert Videos

New Videos

Find my site on DoubleClick Ad Planner
Protected by Copyscape Web Copyright Checker
We have 29 guests online
Copyright © 2008 - 2011. The best Stand Up Comedy Videos